Return to Headlines

New Paltz High School Inducts 61 Students into National Honor Society 

On the evening of March 27, New Paltz High School (NPHS) inducted 61 students into the ranks of its National Honor Society (NHS). NHS President Kylie Ayala spoke about the four qualities—known as the Four Pillars—required to be an NHS member: Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character. She then introduced several NHS officers, who each lit a ceremonial candle after speaking about what one of the pillars meant to them.


Discussing the trait of Scholarship, NHS Vice President Sofia Loyer quoted Nelson Mandela: “A good head and good heart are always a formidable combination, but when you add to that a literate tongue or pen, then you have something very special.” NHS Recording Secretary Sofia Carucci commented on the members’ commitment to volunteering their time and their talents before lighting the Service candle. Treasurer Julia Pankowska spoke about Leadership. NHS Corresponding Secretary Lauren Stolfe, speaking about Character, shared the following words from Helen Keller: “‘Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, vision cleared, ambition inspired, and success achieved.’”


In addition to meeting the four characteristics, students must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.65 or higher to be eligible for NHS membership. 


New Paltz Superintendent Steve Gratto pointed out that the NHS inductees are exceptionally well-rounded and engaged in their school community. The profile of each inductee supported his point, describing the students’ involvement in sports, languages, sciences, dance, STEM programs, theater, clubs, and more. Character traits such as “driven,” “optimistic,” and “committed” were cited in their descriptions, as were high GPAs, after-school jobs, community involvement, and volunteerism. 


The aspirations of the NHS inductees, which were reiterated in biographies as the students received their membership pins, included medical school, traveling, healthcare administration, aeronautical engineering, law school, theater, language and cultural studies, and the desire to “make the world a better place.” 


“Many congratulations to our newest National Honor Society members,” said NPHS Principal Dr. Samuelle Simms to the inductees. “I would like to congratulate the students being honored today for your achievements in leadership, community service, scholarship, and character, which are shown through the hard work and dedication that each of you have displayed.”  


Congratulations to the 2022-2023 inductees: Marzan Akther, Laiba Amjab, Mia Belmar, Hanna Buekelman, Riley Burdick, Piper Casey, Darren Chen, Naomi Chesky, Katherine Cholakis, Raamina Chowdhury, Claire Coiteux, Julia Combs, Kaylie DeGrassi, Guiliana DiBenedetto, Margaret DiDonna, Flavia Drazek, Thornton Eis, Charles Ettinger, Hannah Ettinger, Beckett Evans, Mason Eyler, Marla Mae Feeney, Sofie Figueroa, Aurora Gerber, Eva Goldschein, Anna Goodman, Avery Greger, Grace Hacker, Campbell Heiz, Sadia Islam, Stella Keskey, Ana Kirsch, Melanie Kniffin, Marcus Kutzin, Nicholas Kutzin, Gray Lobell, Rebecca Lucchesi, Gabriella Lutz, Jonathan Lynn, Addison MacDonald, Jahara Maliha, Kalle Masseo, Mackenzie McPadden-Gambler, Dylan McQuade-Dolan, Yobana Mercado-Nunez, Soleil Miller, Trey Nitza, Quinn Oremus, Katie Otis, Daphne Paul-LaRonca, Parker Reed, Mae Rogers, Georgia Schultz, Santino Scilla, Oscar Vandermer, Savino Ventura, Brooke Vos, Lucas Weinman, Henry Wheeler, Koby Wulfmeyer, and Aili Zissu.